November 6, 1860- Abraham Lincoln is elected sixteenth president of the United States, the first Republican president in the nation who represents a party that opposes the spread of slavery in the territories of the United States.

December 17, 1860- The first Secession Convention meets in Columbia, South Carolina.

December 20, 1860- South Carolina secedes from the Union.

December 25, 1860- Major Robert Anderson, commander of the Federal garrison at Ft. Moultrie in Charleston, Soth Carolina, withdrawals his troops to Fort Sumter in the middle of the harbor "to prevent the effusion of blood."

Timeline 1860